City Of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2)

city-of-ashes-new-uk-cover-city-of-ashes-38276462-333-500


City Of Ashes was written by Cassandra Clare.

“Haunted by her past, Clary is dragged deeper into New York City’s terrifying underworld of demons and Shadowhunters – but can she control her feelings for a boy who can never be hers?”

She can’t control her fucking feelings and that’s my problem with this book.
It might just be me because I’m not straight and for that I feel pretty indifferent towards Clary and Jace as a couple and that’s probably why I seem to be THE ONLY ONE who thinks it’s disgusting that they still love each other even though they believe they’re siblings? Like, I get it that you can’t just un-love someone in a matter of seconds but hear me out: They’ve been told at the end of City Of Bones that they’re actually siblings. Now, mind that this is just my personal opinion, but if I was in love with a person and than someone told me “Oh, they are actually your sibling” I would be so fucking disgusted by myself and I couldn’t look at that person without being ashamed as fuck. And Clary and Jace are trying to find a way to still be together like wtf? What the actual fucking hell is wrong with you? To be fair, we all know that they’re not actual siblings and Valentine has a weird sense of humor but still, during the events of City Of Ashes EVERYONE strongly believes that they are siblings.
And at one point in the book Clary and Jace talked about their feelings for each other and Clary said that it was kind of disgusting and Jace just completely freaked out and was like “my feelings for you are disgusting?”. Boy, I really don’t want to be mean but this is a case of serious incest so yeah, your feelings are disgusting.

Don’t get me wrong, I understand people think their lovestory is cute and stuff because they love each other no matter what. But does no one think about what the fuck they just read?

Besides that, the reason why I gave the Shadowhunter world another try, Magnus Bane, was amazing and sassy and badass and gay and that’s literally all I need to continue with these books.

And btw: don’t take my opinion personal, please.

9 thoughts on “City Of Ashes (The Mortal Instruments #2)

  1. I needed this review in my life. 😂 I HATE Clary and Jace. I’m so disgusted by their relationship that even though it gets resolved I can’t shake off this weird feeling. The only reason I continued with this series is for the side characters. Fair warning if you’re planning to continue that the incest theme does not go away.
    I’m yet to read another good review that calls out all the problematic stuff that happens in this book. Yours was perfect! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually skipped over the parts which made me uncomfortable. 🙈 Don’t tell anyone. 😂
        I really don’t understand why this is such a popular series at all. I feel like a lot of people just ignore all the problematic stuff. The world is cool, sure, and the side characters who are SO MUCH better than the main characters are fun to follow, but other than that… I can’t.
        I must admit I liked The Infernal Devices series a bit better. But it has a love triangle and I hate that trope, so it was only a marginal improvement. But I don’t think there’s a lot of representation in that one. At least The Mortal Instruments series has an open M/M and F/F romance.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m glad now that I didn’t already buy The Infernal Devices 😂 I guess I’m going to read the whole Mortal Instruments and then decide how much I hated it and if I want to continue 😂 And it’s so bad that you can’t just skip all of these and go straight into Lady Midnight since that book is supposed to be amazing 😐

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Exactly! I’m curious about Lady Midnight too, but it’s far down my TBR. I have other series to finish that thankfully don’t have incest so I don’t have to feel weirded out in every book, so yeah. Maybe once you’re done and feel like continuing, hit me up and let’s try to buddy read Lady Midnight. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment