Strange The Dreamer (Strange The Dreamer #1)

strangethedreamerhb


Strange The Dreamer was written by Laini Taylor.

Lazlo Strange is an orphan. And like all the orphans in Zosma he grew up in the monastery, where he wasn´t allowed to play out the stories if the lost city Weep, to pretend he was one of their warriors, their heros. But Lazlos life changes, when he´s send to the great library of Zosma and finds countless new stories to read and new secrets to learn about Weep. And soon, a decision he thought was a small one to make, sets him on a journey to help Weep, the only thing he ever dreamed of.

Don´t read further if you don´t want to read spoilers!

Honestly, this book went in a direction I never thought of. I mean, gods? But holy shit, was it good. The citadel in the sky over Weep, the gods hiding in it, Sarai.
To keep it short: The positive things were, first of all, the characters. So well developed. I just absolutely loved them all except maybe Minya because she´s a little bitch BUT that brings me to my next point: No one is truly good or bad. Minya might be one of the worst characters in the book and what she´s doing is wrong but I can definitely see where this is coming from. And even though I kind of hated her while reading the book because honestly Bitch, shut the fuck up, I was so able to understand where all her hate towards humans came from. I mean, the godslayer killed almost every single god in her family.
But still, she´s super mean, which brings me to the other characters that I loved:
Lazlo, Sarai, Sparrow, Ruby and Feral and so many more, but they´re not main characters and I don´t want to name them all. All the characters where so well written and so was the world building.
There are so many different sceneries described in this book and so vividly detailed which, sadly, leads me to the negative things about this book:
This book is long. I don´t mean the amount of pages and I don´t mean that it´s slow pace, because it definitely isn´t. But there are so many descriptions of everything that there are pages in the book where nothing happens except for Lazlo or Sarai describing something and nearly towards the end I felt like it was a bit too much because I wanted to know what happens so badly.
And the other thing has something to do with the plot twist that Lazlo is one of the gods himself. I mean, Sarai points out that Lazlos eyes are a strange grey and then they dream of Skathis and she points out that his eyes are grey and that was like super obvious? They literally talked about how the children look somewhat like their godly parents so when everybody found out that Lazlo is a god I almost didn´t understand why, because he looks exactly like his dad just with a different skin tone. 
The character who surprised me the most was definitely Thyon Nero and I have no idea if I absolutely love or absolutely hate him so I guess I´ll have to wait until the next book to see what he´s doing in it.

There is this Quiz that you can take to find out which godspawn you are and I thought this was pretty funny so idk if you wanna do it. I´m Feral, apparently.

(Rating: A-)

Cover

Amazon
B&N

Also: please look at the gorgeous fanart that Laini Taylor posted on her blog.

4 thoughts on “Strange The Dreamer (Strange The Dreamer #1)

  1. delphinethebabbler says:

    Wonderfully written review. I’m about halfway through Strange the Dreamer and I can already tell it’s going to be one of my new favorites! Taylor’s imagination is absolutely brilliant. I love her portrayal of Weep and the godspawns.
    I look forward to more of your posts in the future… Happy Reading! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

