Books I Want To Read Summer 2017


Disclaimer: I don´t own  most of the books (yet) so I might not get to all of them this summer. I´ll see if I can buy some of these during summer vacation and if not then I might put them on the Autumn/Fall list and try to get them as soon as possible.


1. The Man In The High Castle by Philip K. Dick

51lwhcm2bnpl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

What´s this book about?:
This book takes places 15 years after the Second World War and in this story, the Nazis and the Japanese won the war. The Nazis took control over the East of the US and the Japanese took control over the West and both of them want to control the whole US. You follow a bunch of characters and their view towards the whole situation and the racism.

Why do I want to read it?:
a) It´s a classic and b) it´s an interesting topic and it´s scary to see what could have happened if the Nazis and the Japanese won the World War.

Cover

Amazon
B&N


 

2. The Dark Prophecy by Rick Riordan

91se9d87adl

What´s this book about?:
The God Apollo has been cast down from the Olymp to live as a mortal and he has to do some task so that he can go back to the Olymp.
The Hidden Oracle (The Trials Of Apollo #1)

Why do I want to read it?:
Because Rick Riordan is my favorite author ever and I need to keep up with his work.

Cover

Amazon
B&N


3. Strange The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

51j5i1l2gwl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

What´s this book about?:
Honestly, I have no idea. I just know that it´s fantasy and that there is a lost city and the main character has the chance to go there.

Why do I want to read it?:
Because it´s fantasy and I need more fantasy to read AND this was pretty popular on Booktube so hopefully it´s good.

Cover

Amazon
B&N


4. The Lord Of The Rings Series by J.R.R Tolkien

lotr111

What are these books about?:
Frodo and his companions go on a quest to destroy the evil ring and with it Sauron who is, you know, bad and shit. I figured people know what these books are about.

Why do I want to read them?:
Because I´m a huge fan of the movies but I´ve never read the books and I am ashamed.

tumblr_inline_okcj2u20bp1qb5on3_500

(This will be me when I´ve finally read the books)

Cover
Legolas

B&N
Amazon


5. Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

29236299

What´s this book about?:
This trilogy is set in space and there is some kind of “war” going on and people have to flee from their planets. You follow different main characters in the first two books but I believe they come together in the third one.
Illuminae (The Illuminae Files #1)

Why do I want to read it?:
Because I´ve read the first one and I loved it and now it´s time to read the second one.

Cover

Amazon
B&N


6. Truthwitch & Windwitch by Susan Dennard

witchlands

What are these books about?:
In this world there are witches who have different abilities and one of the main characters is a Truthwitch, which means, she can tell if someone tells the truth. Apparently, these books are pretty heavy on female friendship, so that´s pretty good.

Why do I want to read them?:
Again, I need more fantasy to read and these are pretty popular. And yes, I´m trying to get them in the UK covers because I think they look a bit more like fantasy book covers.

Cover

TW: Amazon  B&N
WW: Amazon  B&N

5 thoughts on “Books I Want To Read Summer 2017

  1. Kim says:

    Good luck with the Lord of the Rings! They have been my favorite books for a long time. The Fellowship of the Ring can be a little slow, but once you get to Bree, the pace picks up, so don’t give up early on!

    Like

Leave a Reply

