The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4)

9781407136646


The Raven King was written by Maggie Stiefvater.

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)
The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2)
Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3)

Blue and her Raven Boys are closer to finding Glendower than ever but first of all they have to get rid of the third sleeper who wants to destroy everything they ever made. And the farther their search goes, the closer Gansey comes to dying.

[Spoilers!]
There are some things to talk about in this book.
First of all: Glendower. Don´t get me wrong, I absolutely loved this book, but since the whole series is about them finding the sleeping king I was a tiny bit disappointed when he was literally just a corpse in a tomb. But then at the same time I thought this was a really amazing plot twist but I really couldn´t stand seeing them hurt after this big discovery. I mean Gansey dedicated his whole life on finding Glendower and then he´s been dead the whole time. Which leads me to the second thing I want to talk about:
Noah Czerny. During the series he lost so much of his humanity the psychics thought that it was his time to leave and he said not yet´ and I was as stupid as to think that he was literally just too afraid to vanish. And then he literally gave what was left of his life to save Gansey both times he died. It wasn´t even fucking Glendower Gansey was after. It was Noah the whole fucking time and I feel like none of the characters in the book appreciated him enough. So can we please talk about Noah Czerny being the best and the cutest character in the Raven Cycle and also that he did not deserve to vanish because he has the purest soul.
Next thing to talk about: Henry Cheng, who is a Chinese-Korean which is a big point for diversity in this series. Also, he was literally trying to get Ganseys attention to become his friend which gives him the title of the third most dedicated person in the books. (First one being Gansey trying to find Glendower and second one being Ronan trying to become Adams boyfriend.)
Talking about Adams boyfriend: Adam and Ronan finally making out (also: can we just appreciate that Adam is bisexual and this literally never happens in media because people are trying to ignore the fact that bisexuals and asexuals exist. But here we have one of the two best bisexual represenations I´ve ever read about. (The other one being Simon Snow from Carry On by Rainbow Rowell (which is literally my favorite book ever so I might write a review for this someday))
And lastly: Blue kissing Gansey and killing him. I mean he comes back because NOAH CZERNY saved his life (I repeat: Noah Czerny is the best of all the best) but, you know, it was pretty dramatic and cool because everyone thought they made a mistake and he was dead for ever.  

Overall, I´m super sad that the series is over and that Noah Czerny is gone but I´m super happy because Blue, Gansey, Henry, Adam & Ronan are happy and alive.

(Rating: A) (I changed my rating system again)

Amazon
B&N

Cover: source

Leave a Reply

