The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)


The Raven Boys was written by Maggie Stiefvater.

Being born without any abilities into a family of psychics wasn´t always easy for Blue. Especially because since she was a young child every psychic she known told her on specific thing about her future: If she kisses her true love, he will die. So Blue told herself to never have something to do with boys but then she meets four boys from the local private school, known as the Raven Boys, who are on the search for a king buried in a sacred place and her life starts to change.

I have to admit: when I first read what this book was about I was certain I wasn´t gonna like it because of the whole “when you kiss your true love, he dies” thing because, seriously, why do authors always write straight, white and cisgender characters with the biggest problems anyone could think of. I mean, considering that the pronoun game is strong in this prophecy, Blue could have literally have every single person on this planet without the he/him pronouns but NO her life is miserable because she is straight so obviously “true love” can only mean a boy. So if this book would support the statement “love has no gender” she could have fallen in love with a bunch of people without killing them.
Anyways, I ended up really enjoying the book because of the whole psychic and magic stuff going on and it took some really amazing turns throughout the story. And this book has some really interesting characters so we´ll see how this goes in the second one.

Rating: (4,25/5)


Picture: source


4 thoughts on “The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s